The National Championships – Stewartby Water 1978.

The Streaker National Championship took place on the 2nd September at Stewartby Water Sports Club near Bedford, who organised and ran a most efficient and enjoyable meeting, and made everybody very welcome.

28 entries were received and 27 came to the line for the first race in a light to moderate north-westerly wind. Arran Linton-Smith of Ranelagh Sailing Club in N°. 842 'The Altogether' made a very good start on the gun at the windward end of the line, and led all the way from start to finish, although challenged for the first half of the race by last year's champion, Nick Tillett, of the home club sailing N°. 195. In the latter part of the race, Nick Tillett had a long battle with F. Catt of Downs Sailing Club in N°. 862 'Thumper', but finally crossed the line in second place, with J.W. Mason of Banbury Cross Sailing Club with N°. 832 'Aquaholic', 3rd and Miss Deborah Degge of Sandwell Valley S.C. in N°. 1019 'Moody Blues', 4th.

The wind fell off for the second race and both Linton-Smith and Nick Tillett were early at the start, Nick having to slow up which led to his being blanketed by boats to windward of him and Arran being over the line. Colin Prince of Lensbury Sailing Club in N°. 132 'Mr Cube 3rd', led to the first mark, followed be Arran Linton-Smith who had recovered very rapidly from his delayed start, eventually passing Colin Prince and starting to open out another lead, while behind him the battle continued for the next few places. He finished the third round to win the Championship with Deborah Degge coming through to take second place.

In the final race Nick Tillett led to the leeward mark and opened up a substantial lead from Deborah Degge and Colin Prince, but lost most of this to Colin Prince on the beat, both of them running down side by side to the leeward mark. Colin Prince then held a long tack which took him clear of the slightly lighter wind along the weather shore, and gave him a long lead which he held until the end, Nick Tillett finishing second and Arran Linton-Smith, who had worked through the fleet after an indifferent start, 3rd, just ahead of Deborah Degge.

Results.

1^{st}	842	Arran Linton-Smith	The Altogether
2^{nd}	195	Nick Tillett	Hans Orf
3 rd	132	Colin Smith	Mr Cube 3 rd
4^{th}	1019	Deborah Degge	Moody Blues
5^{th}	764	Richard Rata	
6 th	862	Frank Catt	Thumper

Ranelagh S.C Stewartby Water S.C Lensbury S.C Sandwell Valley S.C Banbury Cross S.C Downs S.C.