The National Championships – Downs 1990.

Downs SC was the host for the second time to the Streaker national championship over the August bank holiday weekend. Competitors arrived on Saturday to sunshine, mist and very little wind. The first race was scheduled for 12:30 but was postponed to 1:30 to allow the wind to fill and settle in direction. The fleet drifted slowly down tide, a further postponement was made. Due to the perseverance of the race committee a start was made at 6:15 on a evening breeze.

Peter Northen, Frank Catt and Richard Smale were at the front of the fleet in the first race, and Northen soon established a lead despite a tacking duel with Catt, who let Smale through to finish second, Catt finishing third. The second race, also scheduled for Saturday, was cancelled, due to lack of time.

Sunday started with a force 2, and there was a general recall for the third race, which started cleanly at the second attempt. The fleet split into two groups. Those out of the foul tidal stream fared best, with Stephen Comfort rounding first followed by Arthur King and Smale. Comfort hit the windward mark on the second round and allowed King to sail through and win, followed by Smale with Richard Plowright third.

The fourth race produced a different winner when Catt managed his first win of the championship. Nic Barnes was second, Smale third and Plowright fourth. With the fifth race still to be sailed the championship was between Smale and Catt.

The fifth race was sailed over a strong tidal flow and Jonathan Wood took an early lead from Northen, Plowright and Catt. As Smale was not in the top three Catt had his chance to take the title, but had to overtake Plowright on the final leg of the last race to do so. Catt started a tacking match with Plowright and managed to secure his third place within sight of the finish line.

Catt won his fourth Streaker Championship but only by a quarter of one point from Smale who was sailing his first Streaker event.

Simon Cory.

1st Frank Catt	Downs SC	6 ³ / ₄ pts
2 nd Richard Smale	Chichester YC	7 pts.
3 rd Jonathan Wood	Horbury SC	$9^{\frac{3}{4}}$ pts.
4 th Peter Northen	Filey SC	9 ³ / ₄ pts.
5 th Arthur King	Redoubt SC	$10^{3/4}$ pts.
6 th Richard Plowright	Ripon SC	12 pts.
Under Trophy – Jonathan Wood	Horbury SC	_
Over Trophy – Richard Plowright	Ripon SC	
Well Over Trophy – Peter Crooks	Filey SC	
First Lady – Anna Fitzimons		
Concours d'Elegance Trophy	John Tate (1310) – Sca	ling Dam SC
Altogether Shield	Downs SC	
Downs Cup (1st Race) – Peter Northen	Filey SC	