Streaker Association Logo

Hykeham open meeting Hykeham Sailing Club

Bearing in mind the forecast of very light winds for the Streaker Open meeting on the 18 May there was a good turnout.  15 boats took to the water for the first race and making a good start and finding clean air was vital.  Martin Pentry (Beaver SC) and Andy Bayliss (Hykeham SC) did just that and led from start to finish to take 1st and 2nd places. Behind them Veronica Falat (Waveney & Oulton Broad YC) and Paul Jago (Attenborough SC) contested 3rd and 4th place throughout the race with Veronique eventually taking 3rd.

During lunch the little wind there was completed disappeared and the start of the second race was delayed until around 2.30pm.  After consulting the competitors race officer Steve Sallis set a short course to reflect the zephyr like winds which had veered 180 degrees.

Race 2 saw Martin Pentry again take an early lead which he never relinquished.  There was much closer racing behind Martin though but it was Ian Bradley (Ouse Amateur SC) who took 2nd followed by Andy Bayliss and Paul Jago.

Race 3 followed immediately and this time Martin Pentry didn’t make a good start and was buried in mid-fleet on the first beat.  He again showed his outstanding light wind technique though and sniffed out a few good wind shifts to lead round the first mark. A position he never relinquished.  In contrast, Andy Bayliss made an excellent start but was only 5that the first mark while Ian Bradley worked his way into 2nd and held this position to the finish.  Paul Jago improved on his two 4th places by taking 3rdand in 4th place was Bob Towler (Beaver SC).

With three first places Martin Pentry finished a clear first overall with Ian Bradley taking 2nd, Andy Bayliss 3rd and Paul Jago 4th.

Rank SailNo HelmName Club R1 R2 R3 Total Nett
1st 1982 Martin Penty Beaver SC (1.0) 1.0 1.0 3.0 2.0
2nd 2121 Ian Bradley Ouse Amateur SC (5.0) 2.0 2.0 9.0 4.0
3rd 1827 Andy Bayliss Hykeham SC 2.0 3.0 (5.0) 10.0 5.0
4th 1763 Paul Jago Attenborough SC (4.0) 4.0 3.0 11.0 7.0
5th 2106 Lucy Priest Ripon SC (12.0) 5.0 7.0 24.0 12.0
6th 1914 Peter Kitchen Tees & Hartleypool YC (6.0) 6.0 6.0 18.0 12.0
7th 2105 Bob Towler Beaver SC (13.0) 10.0 4.0 27.0 14.0
8th 1787 Peter Bayliss Hykeham SC 7.0 (11.0) 8.0 26.0 15.0
9th 1912 Rob Cocking Delph SC 9.0 7.0 (11.0) 27.0 16.0
10th 1970 Richard Eagland Ripon SC 8.0 (9.0) 9.0 26.0 17.0
11th 1776 Richard Wood Hykeham SC (10.0) 8.0 10.0 28.0 18.0
12th 1972 Veronica Falat Waveney & Oulton Broad YC 3.0 (16.0 DNC) 16.0 DNC 35.0 19.0
13th 1654 Peter Matthews Waveney & Oulton Broad YC 11.0 (16.0 DNC) 16.0 DNC 43.0 27.0
14th 1526 Grant Ashley Hykeham SC 14.0 (16.0 DNC) 16.0 DNC 46.0 30.0
15th 1757 Zoe Ashley Hykeham SC 15.0 (16.0 DNC) 16.0 DNC 47.0 31.0

Class Sponsors

Streaker Class Logo

Developed & Supported by YorkSoft Ltd